BYLAWS OF THE FINANCE COMMITTEE

ARTICLE I: COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Section 1: Purpose

The purpose of these bylaws is to define the membership and outline the scope of duties of the Committee.

Section 2: Membership

The Committee shall consist of a minimum of seventeen (17) members including the following:

- 1. The Vice President for University Fiscal Affairs (or designee), as ex-officio, non-voting member.
- 2. Associate Vice President for Facilities Management, as ex-officio, non-voting member.
- 3. Six (6) elected faculty members, two elected at-large by each campus.
- 4. An eligible AFSCME staff member from each campus, appointed by each campus's AFSCME local.
- 5. Three staff or managers (or their designees), selected by the Vice President for Fiscal Affairs
- 6. An undergraduate student from each campus's student government.

Elected faculty members shall be elected in accordance with the faculty election process adopted by the Elections Subcommittee of the University Senate. Appointed members shall be named by the respective Vice President or designee. Undergraduate students shall be appointed by the Chair of the Committee, following consultation with each campus' student government. The term of appointed student committee members shall be one (1) year.

The initial term of each appointed Committee member (other than student members) is set forth in the attached Roster for Membership, renewable upon agreement of both the Committee member and the appointing authority.

The term of elected committee members shall be commensurate with the term of their initial appointment.

The Committee shall strive to maintain diverse representation and inclusivity.

Section 3: Removal and Resignation

Any member of the committee failing to regularly attend meetings during the academic year will be considered for removal by the Finance Committee.

A Committee member may resign from their position by providing a written notice to the Committee chair or appointing authority.

ARTICLE II: SCOPE OF DUTIES Section 1: Purpose

The purpose of the Committee is to:

- 1. Serve in an advisory capacity to the Vice President for Fiscal Affairs. The jurisdiction and responsibilities of the committee shall coincide with those of the Vice President for Fiscal Affairs.
- 2. Receive, request and report on matters relating to the University budget and budgeting procedures.
- 3. Make recommendations to the Vice President for Fiscal Affairs regarding budgetary support for the various educational programs of the University.
- 4. Initiate, review, and recommend policies and procedures derived from all components of the University and/or when such policies and procedures are referred to the committee by the Vice President for Fiscal Affairs.
- 5. Directly recommend procedures pertaining to billing, expenditures, mail and duplicating to the Vice President for Fiscal Affairs for approval and implementation. These policies will be received as information items in the Senate. Recommendations following discussion will be sent to the Vice President for Fiscal Affairs.

Section 2: Duties and Responsibilities

The Committee shall meet regularly to discuss and review matters related to its scope of duties.

Committee members are expected to actively participate in meetings, contribute their expertise, and collaborate with other members.

The Committee may form subcommittees or working groups as necessary to address specific tasks or projects.

The Committee shall provide recommendations, reports, or any required deliverables to the appointing authority or relevant stakeholders, as specified.

The Committee shall designate a member to make reports to each Local Assembly and to the Senate.

Section 3: Chairperson and Officers

The Committee shall elect a Chairperson from among its members to preside over meetings, facilitate discussions, and represent the Committee when required.

The Chairperson shall serve for a term as set forth in the attached Roster for Membership and may be re-elected if desired.

The Committee may appoint additional officers, such as a Vice-Chairperson or Secretary, to assist in the functioning of the Committee as deemed necessary.

ARTICLE III: MEETINGS

Section 1: Frequency

The Committee shall hold regular meetings at least three times per semester. Additional meetings may be scheduled as necessary or upon the request of the Chairperson or a majority of Committee members.

Section 2: Quorum and Decision-making

A quorum, constituting 9 voting members of the Committee, must be present to conduct official business.

Decisions shall be made by a majority vote of the Committee members present, unless otherwise specified in these bylaws.

ARTICLE IV: AMENDMENTS

These bylaws may be amended by a majority vote of the Committee members with approval by Senate Executive Committee, provided that notice of the proposed amendment is given in advance of the meeting.

Proposed amendments to the bylaws shall be shared with all Committee members a reasonable amount of time prior to the meeting.

These bylaws are hereby adopted on [date] and shall supersede any previous bylaws or rules of the Committee.

[Signature and date of the Committee Chairperson] [Signature and date of the Committee Secretary]

2023-2024 Roster for Membership on the Finance Committee

	Name	Campus	Term (Years)	Other
VP for Fiscal Affairs or Designee	Eric Ness	Bloomsburg	N/A	Ex Officio (non-voting)
Associate VP for Facilities Management	Stacy Wagner	Bloomsburg	3	(ex officio)
Faculty at Large	John Bodenman	Bloomsburg	2	Elected
Faculty at Large	Dina Clark	Bloomsburg	Member - 3 Chair - 1	Elected Chair
Faculty at Large	Stephen Gitonga	Lock Haven	1	Elected Local Assembly Rep
Faculty at Large	Lou Widmann	Lock Haven	3	Elected
Faculty at Large	Jimmy Guignard	Mansfield	2	Elected Local Assembly Rep
Faculty at Large	Bill Keeth	Mansfield	3	Elected
AFSCME	Brandy Hower	Bloomsburg	3	Appointed
AFSCME	Cathy Workman	Lock Haven	3	Appointed
AFSCME	Mike WIlson	Mansfield	3	Appointed
VP of Fiscal Affairs appointee (staff or manager)	Audra Halye	Bloomsburg	3	Appointed
VP of Fiscal Affairs appointee (staff or manager)	Eric Hawrelek	Bloomsburg	3	Appointed Local Assembly Rep
VP of Fiscal Affairs appointee (staff or manager)	Lori Olshefski	Bloomsburg	3	Appointed
Undergraduate Student	Leah Faulkner	Lock Haven	1	Appointed
Undergraduate Student	Brandon Ikeler	Bloomsburg	1	Appointed
Undergraduate Student		Mansfield	1	Appointed