BYLAWS OF THE SPACE & FACILITIES SUBCOMMITTEE

ARTICLE I: SUBCOMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP

Section 1: Purpose

The purpose of these bylaws is to define the membership and outline the scope of duties of the Subcommittee. This subcommittee shall serve in an advisory capacity to the Chief Facilities & Safety Officer when requested to provide feedback on space and facilities related topics.

Provide a yearly update on facilities activities to the Executive Committee.

When directed by the Chief Facilities & Safety Officer, initiate, review, and recommend policies and procedures related to Facilities.

Section 2: Membership

The Subcommittee shall consist of the following members:

- 1. Chief Facilities & Safety Officer as ex-officio, non-voting member.
- 2. Three (3) elected faculty members, one elected at-large by each campus.
- 3. Three (3) Campus Administrators
- 4. Director of Planning & Construction
- 5. Facilities Operations representative
- 6. VP of Advancement or designee
- 7. CIO or designee
- 8. Three (3) Students, one from each campus.
- 9. Three (3) elected SCUPA members, one elected at-large by each campus
- 10. Three (3) elected AFSCME members, one elected at-large by each campus
- 11. Three (3) elected from the athletic department, one elected at-large by each campus.

Elected faculty members shall be elected in accordance with the faculty election process adopted by the Elections Subcommittee of the University Senate. Appointed members shall be named by the respective Vice President or designee.

The initial term of each appointed Subcommittee member is set forth in the attached Roster for Membership, renewable upon agreement of both the subcommittee member and the appointing authority.

The term of elected subcommittee members shall be commensurate with the term of their initial appointment.

The subcommittee shall strive to maintain diverse representation and inclusivity.

Section 3: Removal and Resignation

Any member of the subcommittee failing to regularly attend meetings during the academic year will be considered for removal by the Executive Committee.

A subcommittee member may resign from their position by providing a written notice to the subcommittee chair or appointing authority.

ARTICLE II: SCOPE OF DUTIES

Section 1: Purpose

The purpose of the subcommittee is to:

- 1. Operate in tandem with the Mission of the University
- 2. Support and advance the Strategic Plan of the University
- 3. Attain a safe, healthy, accessible, and sustainable campus environment
- 4. Provide the best possible learning, living, and working environment for students and members of the University community
- 5. Assist with operational efficiency and economy. Utilize the PASSHE guidelines on square footage based on enrollment with a growth factor of 20% as the target of right sizing campuses.
- 6. Provide a process to effect change to space to ensure adherence to the PASSHE guidelines.
- 7. Work along with other University Policies including Furnishings and Technology Policies
- 8. Validate Facilities policies to maintain they are in line with changes in space and operation.

Section 2: Duties and Responsibilities

The subcommittee shall meet regularly to discuss and review matters related to its scope of duties.

Subcommittee members are expected to actively participate in meetings, contribute their expertise, and collaborate with other members.

The subcommittee may form working groups as necessary to address specific tasks or projects. The subcommittee shall provide recommendations, reports, or any required deliverables to the appointing authority or relevant stakeholders, as specified.

The subcommittee shall designate a member to make reports to executive committee.

Section 3: Chairperson and Officers

The subcommittee shall elect a Chairperson from among its members to preside over meetings, facilitate discussions, and represent the subcommittee when required.

The Chairperson shall serve for a term as set forth in the attached Roster for Membership and may be re-elected if desired.

The subcommittee may appoint additional officers, such as a Vice-Chairperson or Secretary, to assist in the functioning of the subcommittee as deemed necessary.

ARTICLE III: MEETINGS

Section 1: Frequency

The subcommittee shall hold regular meetings at least three times per semester. Additional meetings may be scheduled as necessary or upon the request of the Chairperson or a majority of subcommittee members.

Section 2: Quorum and Decision-making

A quorum, constituting 8 voting members of the subcommittee, must be present to conduct official business.

Decisions shall be made by a majority vote of the subcommittee members present, unless otherwise specified in these bylaws.

ARTICLE IV: AMENDMENTS

These bylaws may be amended by a majority recommendation from the subcommittee, with approval by the Senate Executive Committee.

Proposed amendments to the bylaws shall be shared with all subcommittee members a reasonable amount of time prior to the meeting.

These bylaws are hereby adopted on 5/1/24 and shall supersede any previous bylaws or rules of the subcommittee.

Amended as of 2/13/25

Yvette Ingram, President Holly Jackson, Secretary

2023-2024 Roster for Membership on the Information Technology Subcommittee of the Academic Policy Committee

	Name	Campus	Term (Years)	Other
Chief Facilities & Safety Officer	Stacy Wagner	Bloomsburg		Ex Officio (non-voting)
BL Campus Administrator (or designee)	Dan Knorr	Bloomsburg		Appointed
LO Campus Administrator	Stephen Lee	Lock Haven		Appointed
MA Campus Administrator	Gretchen Sechrist	Mansfield		Appointed
CIO (or designee)	Alex Miller	Mansfield		Appointed
Facilities Operations	Kimmer VanGilder	Bloomsburg		Appointed
Faculty at Large	Ron Lambert	Bloomsburg	1	Elected
Faculty at Large	Yvette Ingram	Lock Haven	2	Elected
Faculty at Large	Holly Jackson	Mansfield	3	Elected
Director of P&C	Emil Mikle	Bloomsburg		Appointed
VP of Advancement or designee	Erik Evans	Bloomsburg		Appointed
Student Affairs representative (SCUPA)				Appointed
Undergraduate Student	Matt Yurkunas	Bloomsburg		Appointed
Undergraduate Student	Skylar Lininger	Lock Haven		Appointed
Undergraduate Student		Mansfield		Appointed
Athletics	Mike Collins	Bloomsburg		Appointed
Athletics	Erica Pooler (SCUPA)	Lock Haven		Appointed
Athletics	Peggy Carl	Mansfield		Appointed