Academic Policy Committee

Bylaws

ARTICLE I: NAME

This standing committee of the University Senate shall be the Academic Policy Committee, hereinafter called "the Committee."

ARTICLE II: PURPOSE

The Committee's purpose shall be to review, propose, and oversee the development of academic, noncurricular, policies that pertain to the university's functioning and sustainability.

ARTICLE III: MEMBERSHIP

Section 1: Composition

The Committee shall consist of the following members:

- A. The provost (or designee), as ex-officio, non-voting member.
- B. Six elected faculty members—one each from the Ziegler College of Business; College of Education and Human Services; College of Health Professions; College of Arts, Social Sciences, and Humanities; College of Science and Technology; one non-aligned faculty member who is not a member of the five colleges.
- C. Three faculty members elected, at-large, one from each of Bloomsburg, Lock Haven, and Mansfield.
- D. An APSCUF representative chosen jointly by all APSCUF locals.
- E. An undergraduate student from each campus's student government.
- F. A graduate student selected by the graduate council.
- G. An advising professional appointed by the provost.
- H. The Director of Disability Services (or designee).
- I. The Registrar (or designee).
- J. The Director of Financial Aid (or designee).
- K. If none of the above elected or appointed faculty members have graduate student teaching and advising responsibilities, an additional faculty member from any college or campus that meets this criterion shall be appointed by the Executive Committee.

Elected faculty members shall serve for a term of three years, with the possibility of reelection.

Student members shall serve for a term of one year. Appointed members shall serve the term length listed in their appointment.

Section 2: Officers

The Committee shall elect a Chairperson from among its rostered membership to preside over meetings and ensure the Committee's goals and objectives are met.

The Chairperson shall serve as a member of the Executive Committee and represent the Committee when called upon where necessary.

The Chairperson shall serve a term of one academic year, unless otherwise agreed upon by the membership. The Chairperson may be re-elected if desired.

The Committee may grant the election of co-Chairpersons if the need arises. The Committee may also appoint a Vice-chairperson or Secretary, if needed.

Section 3: Duties of Members

The Committee shall meet to discuss and review matters related to its scope of work. Committee members shall actively participate in meetings, contribute their expertise, and collaborate with other members.

The Committee may form working groups as necessary to address specific tasks or projects.

The Committee shall designate members to make reports to each Local Assembly and to the Senate.

Section 4: Removal and Resignation

The Chairperson may forward the name of any member failing to fulfill their duties during the academic year to the Executive Committee to be considered for removal.

A Committee member may resign from their position by providing a written notice to the Chairperson or appointing authority.

ARTICLE IV: SCOPE OF WORK

The Committee will review, propose, and oversee academic policies as a standing committee of the University Senate. The committee will regularly report to the Executive Committee and propose new and revised policies to the Senate when needed. The intended purpose of this scope of work is to maintain university policy that serves the needs of sound pedagogy, quality academic experiences for students, respects the boundaries of the CBA, and university sustainability.

The scope of the committee's work shall include academic policies except curricular issues addressed under 31.E.1 of the APSCUF CBA. Non-curricular, academic policies include but are not limited to class start times and lengths, credit hour definitions, course numbering, scheduling procedures, course repeat and withdrawal, attendance, academic dismissal and other student conduct policies, and academic grievance.

In order to ensure policy is consistent with the university's goals of enrollment management and equitable and functional online teaching environments, the committee will also solicit or receive the advice of the Information Technology and Enrollment Management subcommittees.

The committee may also propose the removal of a policy if necessary.

ARTICLE V: MEETINGS AND DECISIONS

Section 1: Meetings

The Committee shall hold regular meetings at least two times per semester. Additional meetings may be scheduled as necessary or upon request of the Chairperson or a majority of Committee members.

The Chairperson may choose to conduct the meetings by Robert's Rules of Order, an amended version of rules of order, or a committee agreed-upon set of rules.

A quorum, 51% of the voting members, must be present to conduct official business.

Section 2: Decision-Making

Decisions of the Committee shall be made by a simple majority vote of members present at the meeting, provided a quorum is present.

The Chairperson may call for a vote to be conducted online if the need arises. Alternative voting mechanisms require a quorum of votes cast by members and decisions shall be made by a simple majority vote. Any committee member may object to the call for an online vote and request a meeting for the vote to be held.

ARTICLE VI: AMENDMENTS

These bylaws may be amended by a simple majority vote of the Committee members, provided that a quorum is present, and that proposed amendments have been communicated to members prior to the meeting in a reasonable amount of time.

Bylaw amendments must be approved by the Executive Committee and by the Senate.

ARTICLE VII: RATIFICATION

These bylaws must be reviewed at least every three years from the date of ratification.

These bylaws were agreed to by a simple majority vote by the committee on October 26, 2023, under the direction of Jessy Defenderfer and Deb Rotella, Co-Chairpersons.

These bylaws were agreed to by the Executive Committee and ratified by the University Senate on November 9, 2023 and supersede any previous bylaws of the committee.